Welcome to Laser Pointer Forums - discuss green laser pointers, blue laser pointers, and all types of lasers

LPF Donation via Stripe | LPF Donation - Other Methods

Links below open in new window

ArcticMyst Security by Avery

Greetings from Oklahoma!

Wheatfie1d

Hello! I'm an architecture student at the University of Oklahoma, and I am trying to get into the laser hobby. I've been interested since I was 10 years old, and would beg my mom to get me the Wicked Lasers Arctic. Thankfully she never did, but now I'm a fully grown tinkerer with a little bit of experience working with electronics and I want to build my own blue laser "pointer." I always love a challenge and learning from hands on experience, regardless of what I'm doing. I've been doing research across the internet over the past couple weeks but I wanted to sign up and get some real input because I know this isn't a joke and I want to make sure I do things right the first time.

I was planning on building a 1w handheld laser similar to the one in this video:

I have found almost all of the parts I need online, but there are a few reasons I'm looking for alternatives instead.

1. I would like to spend less than $65, so some used parts would be ideal.
2. I would prefer a host that fits 18650 batteries because I already have plenty of them
3. I am unsure of the compatibility between certain diodes and drivers and host size/type.

Any tips recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

- Whit

P.S. I have done extensive research on the dangers, laws, and proper safety procedures for working with powerful lasers like the one I'm trying to make.

Last edited:

Encap

Welcome and enjoy the forum.

FYI for the budget you have in mind you can purchase a complete functional new 1W+ 445/450nm blue hand held laser these days.-